Thursday, 24 January 2008

The Big Easy

New Orleans Auction Galleries, Inc. is having their next sale on
26 January 2008 10am CDT (4pm GMT)
27 January 2008 11am CDT (5pm GMT)
28 January 2008 Midnight runover

Here are my picks from a fabulous selection. Swamp Palazzo or modernist interior, in either setting these pieces would lend an air of quiet grandeur.


Lot 163: Good Queen Anne Walnut Side chair, first quarter 18th century, the padded shell-form back covered in period tapestry and joined by crook arms to the padded seat, raised on cabriole legs ending in squared feet, the seat having horsehair padding, h. 39-3/4".


Lot 576: Pair of Italian Carved and Gilded Wood Corinthian Pilaster Capitals, fourth quarter 19th century, now mounted on custom rust-finished steel stands as table lamps, h. 28", w. 14-1/2".


Lot 492: Restauration Mahogany Work Table, early 19th century, the lift top fitted with an interior looking glass and opening to expose a compartmentalized interior with a fold-out pin cushion, the drawer with an inset leather writing surface, on a scroll-form cheval base with an unusual dished stretcher, saber legs and brass casters, h. 30-1/4", w. 21", d. 15-1/2".


Lot798: Pair of George III-Style Polychromed Side Tables, fourth quarter 19th century, in the chinoiserie taste, each with a rectangular shaped top with squared corners above a conforming frieze, raised on chamfered square legs ending in molded feet, the whole accented with gilt and polychromed figural landscapes, h. 35-7/8", w. 54-1/4", d. 22".


Lot 574:Pair of Oak Columns, 19th century, each with a fluted shaft to a molded circular base on a socle plinth, h. 97".

Lot 582:After Diego Rodriguez de Silva y Velasquez (Spanish, 1599-1660) "Portrait of a Princess Playing the Harpsichord", late 17th/early 18th-century oil on canvas, 58" x 42", inscribed middle right "ETA ANORV 10 1644", unsigned. Presented in a good Spanish carved dark-gilded wood frame, first quarter 18th century.

----------------
Now playing: Tina Turner - Proud Mary
via FoxyTunes

6 comments:

katiedid said...

The chair...oh the chair. I am in love. And the columns are wonderful!

the House of Beauty and Culture said...

KD - isn't it just perfect the way it is? Can't you just see them in a loft?

girl meets glamour said...

All great picks! I just love the red tables esp.

~Kate

Topsy Turvy said...

I'll take 2 of the Queen Anne side chairs please. Oh, just throw in the column lamps too.
Excellent choices!

Patricia Gray said...

Ditto to GMG comment. What an eye you have HBC!!!

Cote de Texas said...

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The chair!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!